Click to toggle the quicklinksbar2

Translate this page

Arabic Danish French German Spanish

Makerere University and MKU signs an MoU

Makerere University and Mount Kenya University has today (19/9/2017) signed a memorandum of understanding were the two institutions have agreed to collaborate in the improvement of higher education in the region.

The event which was attended by Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe, Vice Chancellor, Makerere University, Prof. Charles Ibingira the Principal, Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Prof. Moses Joloba, Dean, School of Biomedical Science, Prof. Stanley Waudo, MKU Vice-Chancellor, Dr. Vincent Gaitho, MKU Vice Chairman Council, Dr. Stanley Kangethe, MKU Principal College of Health Science and Madam Jane Nyutu, Member MKU Board of Directors.

Makerere University College of Health Sciences (MakCHS) and the MKU college of Health Science (MKUCHS) will work together as equal partners towards the improvement of higher education in the region through development of exchange programs for both students and faculty; joint teaching and research.

The goals of the collaborations are as follows:

  1. To stimulate communication, cooperation, and partnerships between the two Colleges including exchange of students and faculty and to develop twinned curriculum thus enhancing the educational quality and resources of both Colleges.
  2. To provide information on academic programmes of both Colleges so that students take full advantage of existing international education opportunities.
  3. To create a collaborative relationship between MakCHS and MKUCHS in which either party will recognize the other as a partner in training and research.

The Makerere University College of Health Sciences comprises of four Schools namely; the School of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, School of Public Health and the School of Biomedical Sciences and a semi-autonomous Infectious Diseases Institute, MKU college of Health Science is comprised of five (5) Schools namely; Medical School, School of Pharmacy, School of Clinical Medicine, School of Nursing and School of Public Health. In the College there are twenty eight (28) departments.

The Makerere University CHS has over 200 research, training and development projects. It is the home of some of the internationally acclaimed projects like RESILIENT AFRICA network (RAN) that brings together 22 Colleges in USA and Africa; NURTURE: Research Training and Mentoring Program for Career Development of Faculty at Makerere University College of Health Sciences; THRIVE to Research Excellence - a Developing Excellence in Leadership, Training and Science (DELTAS) Africa Award. The total number of publications per year is over 500 per year (504 in 2016 from google scholar). Makerere University ranks third in Africa according to the latest Times Higher Education ranking.

MKU College of Health Science is part of the collaborative activities mutually undertaken in the following institutions among others: Ministry of Health, Kenya; Sustainability Opportunity Training Epidemiology Networking Interdependence (SOTENI) Kenya; Gulu University; University of Cincinnati, USA; Chulaimbo sub-district hospital; Kiambu County Assembly; Northern Kentucky University; Kiambu County Assembly; CFBT Education Trust- Daadab Scholarship; Danish Refugee Council(UNHCR- Kakuma Refugee camp); Mathari National Teaching and Referral Hospital; Partners for Care/ Ohio State University, USA; Leipzig University; Kyambogo University, Uganda; Fountain Africa Trust’ County Government of Kiambu & Thika Level 5 Hospital

Quick Link:

  1. Remarks by VC during MOU Signing Ceremony between MKU and MUK
  2. Madam Jane Nyutu's remarks during MKU - Makerere University MoU signing ceremony
  3. View Gallery