• Campus-Preinspection.png
  • MKU-Corporate-Social-Responsibilities.png
  • MKU-researchers.png
  • MKU-stop-Covid-measures.png
  • Sanitizer-Production-MKU.png
  • UN-and-MKU-Partnership.png

Translate this page

Arabic Danish French German Spanish

About Nakuru town

Nakuru is a cosmopolitan town, and the headquarters of the fourth largest county in Kenya, after Kiambu, Kakamega and Nairobi. The county has 11 constituencies, namely Naivasha Nakuru Town West, Nakuru Town East Kuresoi South, Kuresoi North, Molo , Rongai , Subukia , Njoro , Gilgil and Bahati. Nakuru is world renowned for its eponymous saline water lake, (Lake Nakuru) which is home to the world’s largest concentration of flamingos. A few years ago, it was also crowned the cleanest city in Kenya and the UN has in the past described it as the fastest growing town in Africa. (Read more http://goo.gl/IHqBa) Nakuru has a special place in Kenya’s colonial lore. Twelve kilometres to the West is Lord Egerton Castle, built in 1940s by Lord Maurice Egerton Tatton at the behest of a woman.  (Read more http://goo.gl/904fod). Nakuru is also the gateway to the Menengai Crater, a picturesque, dormant volcano, (2,490 metres high) and home to Kenya’s largest geothermal power fields.

Demographics of Nakuru County
Population: 1,603,325 (2009 Census)
Urbanization: 45.8%
Percentage of the population that can read and write: 83.2%  
Children attending school 15-18 years: 74.7%
Population with primary school level education: 63.4%
Population with secondary school level education: 13.4%
(SOURCE: Kenya County Fact Sheet)

Main Economic Activities

  1. Subsistence and commercial agriculture – which contributes up to 48% of the income
  2. Tourism
  3. Energy generation in Menengai and Olkaria
  4. Small and large scale commercial Businesses.
  5. Manufacturing  (Read more http://goo.gl/mwzk7d)
Twitter Facebook email Youtube